Peshawar Zalmi won PSL 2017 final

Peshawar Zalmi won PSL 2017 final

Peshawar Zalmi thrashed Quetta Gladiators by 58 runs in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2017 final on Sunday at Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium.

The most competitive fight spin into a single sided match as Quetta collapsed under the pressure of a good total of 148 posted by Peshawar.

Quetta began with a weak start to their innings; they scored a single run in the initial over & lost 1 wicket in the second over.

On the other hand Peshawar commenced their inning with 3 fours hit by Kamran Akmal. Also Peshawar Zalmi improved after their middle order collapsed, Gladiators could not recover & the complete squad fell in the sixteenth over.

From Peshawar Zalmi’s squad opener Kamran & captain Sammy were the biggest hitters in this match. Kamran made 40 & Darren hit 3 sixes & 1 boundary while achieving 28 off 22 balls.

From Peshawar side Asghar took 3 wickets & gave away just 16 runs & Wahab took 2 major breakthroughs for just 13 runs.

Peshawar Zalmi lifted PSL 2017 trophy
Peshawar Zalmi lifted PSL 2017 trophy

From Quetta squad Rayad took 3 wickets & 31 runs were conceded in his spell while Nawaz was brilliant with economy (15 runs) in 4 overs & he took 1 wicket

Sammy was awarded Man of the Final trophy.

Darren Sammy gave credit to Shahid Afridi who convinced him to make a tour to Lahore for the final. Darren said that Afridi is 1 of the great player & he persuaded him to play the final in Lahore.

Sammy told that he is glad to come & experience the environment in Pakistan. It’s really magnificent to play on Pakistani soil.

He further added that Peshawar will be happy with the Zalmi performance as they reached the top spot of PSL 2017.

Kamran Akmal was mentioned Man of the Tournament & he was also awarded the brilliant wicket keeper & batsman of the tournament.

Sohail Khan was awarded the best bowler of the tournament as he was the highest wicket taker in PSL 2017. This sort of performance will lift him in his national career.


Peshawar Zalmi:

Kamran Akmal, DJ Malan, MN Samuels, Mohammad Hafeez, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, DJG Sammy (C), CJ Jordan, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Asghar.

Quetta Gladiators:

Ahmed Shehzad, MN van Wyk, Anamul Haque, SM Ervine, Saad Nasim, Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Zulfiqar Babar, Rayad Emrit, Hassan Khan.
Share on Google Plus

About Nadeem Hussain

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment

Let us know your opinion about this article, Remember a blog is not a blog without comments.